Thrive
Thrive
What I Do When I Feel Like Giving Up
2
0:00
-3:00

What I Do When I Feel Like Giving Up

2

Hello My Dears 👋

I am struggling today. If you’ve ever struggled to be consistent with something you care about, maybe my struggle will resonate with you too. 

It has been 373 days since Feb 3, 2020. That’s the date when I first published a post on louise.substack.com. But today? Well, today I am struggling. Today, I don’t feel like writing. Today, I don’t feel like sticking to the routine. Today, I don’t feel like I have any great ideas and I don’t feel like I have the mental space for good ideas. Today, I feel like giving up. 

If you’ve known such days or are right there with me, here’s what I try to remind myself of when I feel like giving up…

EVERY THOUGHT IS NOT AN ORDER

Right now, my mind is whispering in my ear that I’m just not feeling it today, that perhaps I am tired, and maybe I should take a break and see what tomorrow brings. It is suggesting to look for the easy way and choose the path of least resistance. 

However, if I pause for a moment, I also hear other suggestions. My mind is also suggesting that I will feel really good once the post is published. It is suggesting that the easy way won’t take me to where I want to be. It is suggesting that even if I am just going through the motions - I have the ability to go through the motions. 

But none of these thoughts are orders. They are merely suggestions and I have full power to choose which option to follow. The latter it is!

IT’S OK TO FEEL UNCOMFORTABLE

Overcoming obstacles will not happen by itself, it will not happen by cutting corners, taking shortcuts, or looking for the easy way. We all face hurdles and obstacles we must overcome, it is all part of the journey. So it’s absolutely OK to step into this moment of discomfort, let these challenges raise you up - let them elevate you. 

THERE WILL BE NO REGRET

Despite feeling the resistance, I have never found myself feeling worse after the work was finished. There are days when it is hard to start, but it is always worth finishing. The simple act of showing up and having the courage to do the work is a victory worth celebrating.

Life is a constant balance between giving in to the ease of distraction or overcoming the pain of discipline. Discipline defeats the infinite excuses that say: Not today, not now, I need a rest, I will do it tomorrow. 

So, what do I do when I feel like giving up? I show up. 🚀


Helping people and organizations fuel their best. And then make their best much better.

LET'S GO!

May your weekend be filled with good energy! ☀

Love,

Louise

→ Get In Touch / Work With Me


THE PRICE OF DISCIPLINE IS ALWAYS IS ALWAYS LESS THAN THE PAIN OF REGRET

2 Comments